About Us

A Brief History

Washington Volunteer Fire & Rescue Inc. was be established in Rappahannock County in 1939 as “Company 1.”  The company was initially housed on Main Street, across from the Courthouse and moved to the current location off Warren Avenue in the late 1970’s. The existing station was built by the then members to include a hall capable of housing community events. In 2004, we completed the addition of 3-bay building to house fire apparatus and continued to use the 2 bays of the existing building for Ambulances. We were growing and apparatus was getting bigger so the addition met our needs..

Meet our Volunteers

We have almost 50 active volunteers.  Our volunteers come from many different backgrounds: from high school students to a retired Coast Guard officer, from VDOT employees to active Sheriff’s Office Deputies. They are all united in the desire to provide rapid, compassionate and professional quality emergency services to their community.

  • President: Bill Walton
  • Vice President: Ann Spieker
  • Treasurer:  Kaye Clark
  • Secretary: John Jamieson

For 2020, our officers are:

  • Chief: Jonathan Bankston
  • Assistant Chief: Bobby Smoot
  • Fire Captain: Sean Knick
  • Fire Lieutenant: Charles Crawford
  • EMS Assistant Chief: Gary Jenkins Jr
  • EMS Captain: Lisa Palmer
  • EMS Lieutenant: Sherry Lillard

Rappahannock Fire and Rescue Association delegates are Ann Spieker, Jonathan Bankston, and Kaye Clark; alternate delegates are  Bill Walton, Sean Knick, and Charles Crawford.


  • John Lesinski
  • Shirley Franey
  • Bobby Smoot

Want to know more about our equipment? Read here.